The 25 Consequences of an Adulterous Relationship – Larry Tomczak

Saints,
Here’s a compelling list of reasons why one shouldn’t yield to the temptation of adultery. The bible clearly states that anyone who indulges in such literally is a fool and piles upon his or her chest coals of fire.

This list by Larry, a compilation over many years is a great starting point. Let him or her who has an ear, listen.

The 25 Consequences of an Adulterous Relationship – compiled by Larry Tomczak

"
I keep handy a list of what can happen to an individual who stupidly yields to adultery. I read through this slowly and prayerfully on a somewhat regular basis. I make copies and pass it along to others. I’d like to share it with you and pray you do likewise. I credit Randy Alcorn and Alan Hlavka as the two Christian leaders who formulated most of this list decades ago.

"

The Bible and my conscience strongly warn me about going down the path to adultery. Whenever I feel particularly vulnerable to sexual temptation or sense I’m being deceived, I will review what effects my action can have:

1. Grieving the God who created and redeemed me.
2. Causing the sacred name of my Lord Jesus to be mocked and ridiculed.
3. Having to look Jesus, the righteous Judge, in the face on Judgment Day to give an account for my actions.
4. Following in the tragic footsteps of those whose immorality forfeited their position and reputation.
5. Inflicting untold hurt on my wife, my best friend and loyal companion.
6. Losing my wife’s respect, trust and confidence.

7. Hurting my beloved children and possibly disillusioning them to Christianity for life.
8. Destroying my example and credibility with my children and probably nullifying both present and future efforts to teach them to obey God.
9. Perhaps losing my wife and my children forever through a divorce and relocation.

10. Causing a potential of lifetime shame to my wider family name.
11. Losing self-respect and a clean conscience.
12. Forming memories and flashbacks that could haunt me for the rest of my life as well as hinder future intimacy with my wife.
13. Wasting years of career training and experience should I forfeit my job.
14. Forfeiting the effect of years of witnessing to others and reinforcing their distrust for Christians.
15. Undermining the faithful example and hard work of other Christians in the Christian community.
16. Bringing great pleasure to Satan, the enemy of God and all that is good.
17. Risking very real physical harm from a jealous boyfriend or spouse.
18. Heaping judgment and endless difficulty on the person with whom I committed adultery.

19. Bearing potential physical consequences of STDs like gonorrhea, syphilis, chlamydia, herpes and AIDS; infecting my wife and causing sterility, deformity or even death.
20. Possibly causing pregnancy, with the personal and financial implications, including a lifelong reminder of my sin.
21. Heaven forbid if the unborn baby was aborted and we were haunted by this fact all the days of my life.
22. Living with debilitating fear and guilt, maybe even blackmail, until the sin was exposed.
23. Invoking shame and lifelong embarrassment on myself.

24. Experiencing long-standing mental and emotional distress plus sexual baggage, sleeplessness, depression, migraines, obesity, etc.
25. Long-standing financial repercussions.

Culled form Larry’s Article on the same topic on Charisma. Click here: http://www.charismamag.com/life/men/19032-25-compelling-reasons-to-avoid-the-seduction-of-adultery

Follow: @theriverbank

Leave a Reply

